北部曝光:朗塞斯顿到摇篮山的驾车度假

鸽子湖和摇篮山

说到冒险,克里斯和莎拉总是乐于接受挑战。而这正是他们在塔斯马尼亚北部为期三天的旅行中所发现的,参观世界著名的摇篮山——圣克莱尔湖国家公园。

在我的脑海里有一个琐碎的想法,每当我们想到塔斯马尼亚岛,都会低声说,“你和克里斯应该走陆路。”但那是七个晚上的野外露营,我真的得让自己振作起来。取而代之的是,我建议Chris我们去摇篮山和国家公园周围的一些散步,所以我们在朗塞斯顿机场准备好了Apex租车,准备进行为期三天的冒险。

你认识的魔鬼:朗塞斯顿到摇篮山

一艘船在塔斯马尼亚国王桥朗塞斯顿瀑布峡谷的吊桥下行驶

我们一大早就到了,所以我们决定马上出发,乘坐添马舰(Tamar River Cruises)进行一次温和的晨游。在两个半小时的时间里,我们掠过水面,查看河岸,寻找有趣的风景。这里有葡萄园、湿地、农场和历史遗产。当然,我们也会穿过壮观的瀑布峡谷,那里有吊桥、缆车和孔雀在花园里昂首阔步。

回到陆地上,我们离开城市,在韦斯特伯里(Westbury)的小村庄短暂停留,那里的许多历史建筑已经修复,并被改造成古董商店和画廊,展示当地艺术家和摄影师的作品。尽管在游轮上喝了早茶,克里斯还是很想继续前行,因为我们的下一站是阿什格罗夫奶酪(Ashgrove Cheese)。农民们在塔西北部有好几处房产,但豪华游客中心位于伊丽莎白镇附近。我们在外面散步,遇到快乐的奶牛,然后在奶场门口坐下来吃奶酪烤面包(自然),品尝塔斯马尼亚拼盘,里面装满了农场的农产品,包括一种掺有当地种植的芥末的奶酪。

当我们登上海拔1545米的高山时,天气晴朗,我们可以看到好几英里。情况并非总是如此,山顶经常被云雾笼罩。令人惊讶的是,这里没有真正的城镇,只有一系列住宿选择,其中许多提供从餐饮到水疗的其他服务。

我们在天黑前很久就到了这里,时间已经到了,所以我们在[email protected].毕竟,你多久会与一个毛茸茸的传说亲密接触一次。我们看着它们被喂食,在篝火旁坐下喝饮料之前,我们会去看望托儿所里的一些小乔伊。

冒险:摇篮山

塔斯马尼亚州,摇篮山峡谷,两个穿着潜水服、戴着头盔的人正要跳过一个岩石瀑布

在摇篮山-圣克莱尔湖国家公园里,有各种各样的步行者穿过山脉和更远的地方的小径,但我们今天做的事情不同了。“你准备好了吗?”克里斯问,我们正在 摇篮山峡谷(Cradle Mountain Canyons)准备装备。说实话,我有恐高症,我不确定。对于不熟悉峡谷的人来说,它包括从瀑布上跳下、从悬崖上滑下和在河流上漂浮。穿过雨林后,我们跌入水中,跌入多夫峡谷,跳入瀑布。谢天谢地,肾上腺素开始分泌,我对冻僵的恐惧化为乌有。最好的部分是一个被称为洗衣槽的障碍物,一个10米长的自然滑道,将你射入洞穴。之后,克里斯和我都回小屋洗了个热水澡,因为我们计划参加摇篮山夜游(Cradle Mountain Night Spotting Tour)。导游带我们乘坐四轮驱动汽车进入国家公园,我们沿着木板路,眺望荒野。有肥胖的摇摇晃晃的袋熊和小袋熊在寻找下一顿负鼠或昆虫。我们甚至听到塔斯马尼亚魔鬼在他们的领土上相互咆哮、呼噜和尖叫。难怪他们有这么可怕的名声。

沿着这条路走:摇篮山到圣克莱尔湖

在塔斯马尼亚州摇篮山的圣克莱尔湖,可以俯瞰茂密的灌木丛和一个叫做奥林匹斯山的岩石高原

大多数游客在游览摇篮山时都会呆在附近,但我们会开车到公园的南部,在回声点轨道(Echo Point Track)上伸展双腿。这是陆路赛道的最后一段,但对于白天的游客来说,有一艘渡轮从辛西亚湾游客中心穿过圣克莱尔湖。从甲板上我们可以看到周围的景色。这是澳大利亚最深的淡水湖,但附近没有其他船只。艾达山隐约出现在水面上。

渡船把我们放下,我们出发了。这条小径的大部分都位于雨林中,尽管沿着湖岸而行。我们周围是桃金娘山毛榉、檫树和巨大的蕨类植物。狭窄的桥梁把我们带到溪水之上。森林不时地变得足够清澈,我们可以看到湖面。总共11公里,局部有点泥泞,但大部分是平坦的。最终,森林发生了变化,变得更加开放,不知不觉中,我们回到了游客中心,准备返回朗塞斯顿。

Northern Exposure: a Launceston to Cradle Mountain Driving Holiday

Dove Lake and Cradle Mountain

When it comes to adventure, Chris and Sarah are always up for a challenge. And that’s just what they find on a three-day trip in Tasmania’s north, taking in the world-famous Cradle Mountain–Lake St Clair National Park.

There’s a niggling thought at the back of my mind that, whenever we’re thinking about Tasmania, whispers, “You and Chris should do the Overland Track.” But that’s seven nights of wilderness camping, and I’m really going to have to psyche myself up. Instead, I’ve suggested to Chris we check out Cradle Mountain and some of the walks around the national park, so here we are picking up our Apex Car Rentals vehicle at Launceston Airport ready for a three-day adventure.

The Devil You Know: Launceston to Cradle Mountain

A boat travels below the suspension bridge at Launceston’s Cataract gorge, Kings Bridge, Tasmania

We’ve arrived early in the day, so we decide to start the trip off right with a gentle morning sightseeing expedition with Tamar River Cruises. For two-and-a-half hours we skim across the water, checking the banks of the river for interesting sights. There are vineyards and wetlands, farms and historic estates. Of course, we also travel through the spectacular Cataract Gorge, with its suspension bridge, cable cars and peacocks strutting around the garden.

Back on land, we head out of the city and stop briefly in the hamlet of Westbury, where many of the historic buildings have been restored and converted into antique shops and galleries showing the work of local artists and photographers. Despite having had morning tea on the cruise, Chris is keen to head on though because our next stop is Ashgrove Cheese. The farmers have several properties in Tassie’s north, but the fancy visitor centre is near Elizabeth Town. We go for a wander outside and meet the happy cows then sit down at the Dairy Door for cheese toasties (naturally) and a Taste of Tasmania platter, loaded with the farm’s produce including a cheese infused with locally grown wasabi.

When we make it up the mountain, 1,545 metres above sea level, the day is clear and we can see for miles. That’s not always the case, with clouds and mist often covering the peak. Surprisingly, there’s no actual town here, just a collection of accommodation options, many of them offering other services from meals to spa treatments.

We’re here long before dark and with time up our sleeves, so we book the sunset experience at [email protected]. After all, how often do you get to have a close encounter with a furry legend. We watch them being fed and visit some of the young joeys at the nursery before sitting down at the campfire for drinks.

Take the Plunge: Cradle Mountain

Two people in wetsuits and helmets about to leap over a rocky waterfall, Cradle Mountain Canyons, Tasmania

There are trails for all levels of walker across the mountain and further afield in the Cradle Mountain–Lake St Clair National Park, but we’re doing something different today. “Are you ready for this,” Chris asks as we’re getting into our gear at Cradle Mountain Canyons. To be honest, with my fear of heights, I’m not sure. Canyoning, for the uninitiated, involves jumping off waterfalls, abseiling down cliffs and floating down rivers. After walking through the rainforest, we hit the water, abseiling into Dove Canyon and leaping into waterfalls. Thankfully, the adrenaline kicks in and my fears of freezing up come to nought. The best part is an obstacle called the Laundry Chute, a 10-metre natural slide that shoots you into a cave. Afterwards, both Chris and I head back to the cabin for a hot shower because we’ve planned to go on the Cradle Mountain Night Spotting Tour. Our guide takes us by 4WD coach into the national park and we follow a boardwalk, peering into the wilderness. There are fat waddling wombats and quolls looking for their next meal of possum or insects. We even hear Tasmanian devils growling, grunting and screeching at one another over their territory. No wonder they have such a fearsome reputation.

Walk This Way: Cradle Mountain to Lake St Clair

A view over the water at Lake St Clair towards thick bush and a rocky plateau called Mount Olympus, Cradle Mountain, Tasmania

Most visitors tend to stay near Cradle Mountain when they visit, but we’re going to drive to the south of the park and stretch our legs on the Echo Point Track. It’s the final leg of the Overland Track, but for day visitors, there’s a ferry that travels across Lake St Clair from the Cynthia Bay Visitor Centre. From the deck we take in the view around us. This is Australia’s deepest freshwater lake, but there are no other boats nearby. Mount Ida looms over the water.

The ferry drops us off and we set off. Much of the trail, despite following the banks of the lake, is set in rainforest. We’re surrounded by myrtle beech, sassafras trees and huge ferns. Narrow bridges carry us above streams of water. Now and again, the forest clears enough so we can see the lake. It’s 11 kilometres in total, a little muddy in parts, but mostly flat. Eventually, the forest changes, becomes more open and, before we know it, we’re back at the visitor centre and ready to return to Launceston.