寄予厚望:朗塞斯顿摇篮山旅游指南

它以其自然美景闻名于世,所以前往摇篮山享受一流的徒步旅行,登上高耸的山峰,环绕冰川湖泊。一路上,你可以停下来见塔斯马尼亚魔鬼,去飞钓,了解该地区的历史。

你为什么要这么做

塔斯马尼亚州摇篮山,一个人站在桥上俯瞰白雪覆盖的森林,迷人的步行道

1982年,该州150万公顷土地被宣布为塔斯马尼亚世界荒野遗产区(Tasmanian World Wilderness Heritage Area),旨在保护其令人难以置信的自然和文化资产。它的中心是摇篮山-圣克莱尔湖国家公园(Cradle Mountain–Lake St Clair National Park),这里的景观是由冰川形成的。你将看到的一些植物——例如比利王松树——在冈瓦纳大陆从超级大陆分裂出来后就已经存在于这里,重要的动物群包括濒危的塔斯马尼亚魔鬼和古尔。当然,除此之外,这是一个令人惊叹的地区,摇篮山本身位于公园的北部,距离塔斯马尼亚州第二大城市朗塞斯顿仅约150公里。尽管如此,还是把人群抛在身后,沿着公园的边缘开车到圣克莱尔湖,那里有更多的散步可以享受,还有机会去钓鱼。

别错过

塔斯马尼亚州,摇篮山,鸽子湖赛道,一名女子沿着湖前的小路行走,雪山覆盖

在摇篮山的底部是多夫湖(Dove Lake),在平静的日子里,镜面反射着周围的山脉。最好的方式是在著名的6公里长的鸽子湖赛道上,在摇篮山下蜿蜒而行,穿过雨林,经过特有的国王比利松树和山毛榉。这种土生土长的山毛榉是澳大利亚唯一的寒冷气候落叶树;每年4月下旬至5月间,水青冈的转向正成为越来越受欢迎的旅游景点。

五个在路上

  1. 布里肯登庄园(Brickendon Estate),你可以一瞥塔斯马尼亚的殖民历史——自由移民、被判刑的工人和已经在这里生活了七代人的阿切尔家族。该地产的中心农场村庄仍保持着19世纪20年代的面貌。探索建筑,遇见动物,漫步在广阔的花园中,穿过麦格理河上的吊桥,走囚犯农场步行道。

  2. 来自蒙大拿瀑布的波光粼粼的淡水为鲑鱼提供了完美的生长条件。在德洛雷恩附近的南塔斯马尼亚41号,你可以看到它们是如何被饲养的,把一些食物扔到池塘里,把饥饿的鱼吸引到水面,然后在咖啡馆休息一下,吃一个三文鱼汉堡。这里还有一个人参农场。

  3. 顺道拜访[email protected]为了迎接澳大利亚三种最大的食肉有袋动物——塔斯马尼亚魔鬼和东方斑尾袋鼠——它们都濒临灭绝。庇护所有几条路线可供选择,包括joey Conferences(乔伊遭遇战)和after dark feeding(天黑后喂食)路线。

  4. 摇篮山荒野画廊(Cradle Mountain Wilderness Gallery),可以看到讲述该地区故事的照片、绘画、素描、电影和装置。这里有12个房间,其中一些是永久性的展览,另一些是不断变化的展览,环绕着塔斯马尼亚灌木园。其中一个画廊是为彼得·董布罗夫斯基(Peter Dombrovskis)和奥列加斯·特鲁恰纳斯(Olegas Truchanas)等摄影师自然资源保护主义者而设的,他们在塔斯马尼亚荒野度过了很长一段时间,捕捉了那里的美景,并与全世界分享.

  5. 很多围绕摇篮山的徒步旅行都需要一段相当长的时间,但如果你想找一段较短的散步时间,那就试试魔法漫步吧。它穿过一片茂密的苔藓森林,沿着涓涓细流的铅笔松溪前行。为巴德曼森林的常客们睁大眼睛。整个赛道只有一公里长,大约需要20分钟才能完成。

住在哪里

瓦尔德海姆小屋酒店

这座山上的住宿远不划算。如果你不需要奢侈品,瓦尔德海姆小屋(Waldheim Cabins)有八间乡村小屋,睡在四到八个铺位之间,有共享的便利设施。你需要自带亚麻布和毛巾。它们位于历史悠久的瓦尔德海姆小屋(Waldheim Chalet)后面,这是一座建于1912年的客房复制品(原址在1976年的一场火灾中被毁)。

摇篮山高地人

小屋的另一个选择是位于国家公园北部入口附近的摇篮山高地人(Cradle Mountain Highlanders),从舒适的工作室到两居室的家庭选择。

德温特桥小屋和工作室

在圣克莱尔湖附近,德温特桥小屋和工作室(Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios) 有10个独立的单元,俯瞰着一片雪树胶森林。对于那些想在公园南端徒步旅行的人来说,这是个完美的地方。

以下是如何做到这一点

鸽子湖和摇篮山

在抵达塔斯马尼亚州之前,预订一辆汽车,在飞往朗塞斯顿机场时从Apex租车公司取车。开车穿过乡间,到达塔斯马尼亚州最著名的地标之一摇篮山,是一段很愉快的旅程。摇篮山-圣克莱尔湖国家公园是一个巨大的国家公园,道路沿着它的边缘和附近的保护区延伸。

完成后

英吉纳的雪/大湖

与其回头,不如绕行摇篮山-圣克莱尔湖国家公园的南边,沿着被亲切称为“大湖公路”的路线穿过大湖,这条公路深受渔民、观鸟者和徒步旅行者的欢迎。有一个叫米娜(Miena)的小营地,你可以在那里停下来。

High Hopes: Launceston to Cradle Mountain travel guide

It’s world famous for its natural beauty, so head to Cradle Mountain to enjoy first-class hiking up soaring peaks and around glacial lakes. Along the way you can stop to meet Tasmanian devils, go fly fishing and discover the area’s history.

WHY YOU SHOULD DO IT

A person stands on a bridge overlooking a snow-covered forest, Enchanted Walk, Cradle Mountain, Tasmania

In 1982, one and a half million hectares of the state was declared the Tasmanian World Wilderness Heritage Area, designed to protect its incredible natural and cultural assets. At its heart is the Cradle Mountain–Lake St Clair National Park, where the landscape was formed by glaciers. Some of the plants you’ll see – King Billy pines, for instance – have existed here since Gondwana split from the supercontinent, and the significant fauna includes endangered Tasmanian devils and quolls. Apart from all that, of course, it’s a stunning region and Cradle Mountain itself, located in the park’s north, is only about 150 kilometres from Launceston, Tasmania’s second biggest city. Leave the crowds behind though, and drive around the edge of the park to Lake St Clair where there are even more walks to enjoy, as well as the opportunity to go fly fishing.

DON’T MISS

A woman walks along a path in front of a lake and snow-capped mountains, Dove Lake Circuit, Cradle Mountain, Tasmania

Set at the base of Cradle Mountain is Dove Lake, where, on a calm day, the mirror-like surface reflects the mountain ranges surrounding it. The best way to take it all in is on the popular six-kilometre Dove Lake circuit that snakes beneath Cradle Mountain, through rainforest and past endemic King Billy pines and fagus. This native beech is Australia’s only cold-climate deciduous tree; the turning of the fagus happens between late April and May each year and is becoming an increasingly popular visitor attraction.

FIVE ON THE DRIVE

  1. Get a glimpse into Tasmania’s colonial past – free settlers, convict workers and the Archer family, who’ve lived here for seven generations – at Brickendon Estate. The farm village, the hub of the property, remains as it was in the 1820s. Explore the buildings, meet the animals, stroll through the extensive gardens and take the Convict Farm Walk across the suspension bridge over the Macquarie River.

  2. The sparkling fresh water from Montana Falls offers the perfect growing conditions for salmon. At 41 South Tasmania, near Deloraine, you can see how they’re raised, throw some food into the ponds to draw the hungry fish to the surface, and take a break at the cafe to treat yourself to a salmon burger. There’s also a ginseng farm onsite.

  3. Drop by [email protected] to meet Australia’s three largest carnivorous marsupials – the Tasmanian devil and eastern and spotted-tail quolls – all of them endangered. There are several tours available at the sanctuary, including joey encounters for those intent on meeting a baby devil and after-dark feeding tours.

  4. See photographs, paintings, drawings, movies and installations that tell the story of this region at Cradle Mountain Wilderness Gallery. There are 12 rooms, some with permanent displays and others featuring changing exhibitions, circling a Tasmanian bush garden. One of the galleries is dedicated to photographer conservationists like Peter Dombrovskis and Olegas Truchanas who spent great periods of time in the Tasmanian wilderness, capturing its beauty and sharing it with the world.

  5. Many of the hikes around Cradle Mountain require a decent time commitment, but if you are looking for a shorter stroll try the Enchanted Walk. It passes through a dense, mossy forest and follows trickling Pencil Pine Creek. Keep an eye open for wombats and pademelons, who frequent the edge of the forest. And the whole circuit is only a kilometre long and takes about 20 minutes to complete.

WHERE TO STAY

Waldheim Cabins

Accommodation on the mountain is far from budget friendly. If you don’t need luxuries, Waldheim Cabins has eight rustic huts, sleeping between four and eight in bunks, with shared amenities. You do need to bring your own linen and towels. They’re behind historic Waldheim Chalet, a replica of guest accommodation built in 1912 (the original was destroyed in a fire in 1976).

Cradle Mountain Highlanders

Another option for cabins, from cosy studios for two to two-bedroom family options, is Cradle Mountain Highlanders, located near the northern entrance to the national park.

Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios

Near Lake St Clair, Derwent Bridge Chalets & Studios has 10 self-contained units overlooking a snow gum forest. It’s the perfect place for those looking to do long hikes in the southern end of the park.

HERE’S HOW TO DO IT

Dove Lake and Cradle Mountain

Before you arrive in Tasmania, book a vehicle to pick up from Apex Car Rentals when you fly into Launceston Airport. It’s a lovely drive through the countryside to get to Cradle Mountain, one of Tasmania’s most famous landmarks. The Cradle Mountain–Lake St Clair National Park is huge, with road access tracking the edges of it and neighbouring conservation areas.

WHEN YOU’RE DONE

Snow at yingina / Great Lake

Rather than turning back the way you came, skirt around the southern edges of Cradle Mountain–Lake St Clair National Park and follow what is affectionately known as the Lake Highway past Great Lake, popular with fishers, bird watchers and hikers. There’s a small settlement called Miena where you can stop.